Rambling On.. Isn’t that what personal blogs are about?

fahrenheit-451.jpg

“We need not to be let alone. We need to be really bothered once in a while. How long is it since you were really bothered? About something important, about something real?”
– Ray Bradbury, Farenheit 451

“You can’t change the world Sam.” – that’s what my close friend always said to me. He was right.

In fact I’ve heard variations to that statement from quite a few people over the years. The reaction is usually the result of me venting my heart out about some injustice in the world that had me all riled up.  I don’t blame them, I know they’re as helpless as me in most situations. But being helpless pisses me off.

I also believe we’re not always as helpless as we claim we are. That’s when the rambling starts. As well as the accusations of me being “idealistic”, “emotional”, “impractical”.  I say accused because that’s the tone people use when they say it, like I am committing a terrible offense. After much deliberation I’ve come to terms with my perception of ideals – they are a good thing to have.  In fact, shouldn’t we encourage ideals in people? There’s the tiresome idealism again 😉 I’m also convinced that feeling emotions don’t have to cloud judgement, they also foster ideas of empathy that could lead to better choices.

After countless days of frustration and heated discussions with friends, family, acquaintances (yeah, after a while I noticed the argumentative pattern too) over state of affairs; I’ve finally decided to take the sage advice of channeling my thoughts into a blog.

In other words, I’m giving people around me a break. I’m instead using the internet to reach out to more people to annoy them too. I suspect a lot of you care, or cared about things at some point before you decided it was all futile.

I invite you to get pissed more often. We might actually make a difference.

And on that note here begins my soliloquy..

2 thoughts on “Rambling On.. Isn’t that what personal blogs are about?

Leave a Reply

